How does God strengthen us?

 

You may or may not be aware that I love listening to music and in the last few days I have discovered heaps of new christian singers and songs (and some, not so new). One of my new favourites is ‘Hills and Valleys‘ by Tauren Wells : Lyric Video Here

I was looking back through my posts and I noticed that my last christian encouragement post was eighteen posts and two months ago… So here I am making sure I keep Jesus the center of everything I do!


IMG_4073.JPG
This is a photo I took while at Youth Group, where we discussed why we read the bible.

I’ve had a hard and stressful first day of the week (Monday/Today) I could talk on and on about how annoying every Monday is for me but that’s not what i’m writing about today… maybe some other time. “Well, we sure are looking forward to that!” everyone says sarcastically. 

So today I thought I would write a post about how God encourages and strengthens us to go day by day serving him.

I have a few bible verses written below to get us in the mood, it would be great if you read through them a few times before reading on. *smiles in a maniacal way*

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, to that Christ’s power may rest on me.

– 2 CORINTHIANS 12:9-10

God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.

– PSALM 46:1

The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and he helps me. My heart leaps for joy, and with my son I praise him. The LORD is the strength of his people, a fortress of salvation for his anointed one.

– PSALM 28:7-8

Where to start?…

In a situation of my own this morning where I was completely stressed, I had heaps on my mind while being angry at myself for putting things off and I ended up crying in my bedroom, not going to lie there. (If there is anything I have learned from evangelizing it is that people pay more attention when there are situations that they themselves have gone through)

So I was in my bedroom getting emotional and I didn’t know what to do. I was asking God to help me but I there was so much going through my mind that I was distracted and didn’t sit down and spend some time with God.

It is hard to immediately bring your mind to God when you are in trouble, for some people it is easier but for me when there is a whole jumble of random things worrying you it’s hard.

Let’s read some steps to understanding God is truly there, strengthening you, encouraging you in so many little hidden ways.

STEP ONE:

IMG_4075
GOD LOVES YOU!

God loves your imperfections, you looks, your heart, everything about you!

img_4062-e1500868250576.jpg

STEP TWO:

 

Being reminded that God is there to strengthen you. I love the second verse I had written for this post:

God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.

– PSALM 46:1

I love this so much because it is saying that God is there for us through the thick and thin through Every. Single. Situation. We. Go. Through. And through those situations he is there strengthening and encouraging us!

So… to answer this question.

HOW DOES GOD STRENGTHEN US?

God strengthens us in heaps of different ways!

Through His Word: The Bible

Through Music

Through Prayer

Through Good Friendship

Through Kind Words

Through Devotion

Through Pretty Things

Through EVERYTHING!

 

How encouraging is that?! 


I pray you guys are having an amazing week!

 

In Christ,

H. G Reilly

Leave a Reply

