Creation – The Very Beginning –

Creation is one of the things many people disagree on. Some say the world was created from a big bang other by God and some really don’t care. I grew up with the questions, how did the world begin? Who made the world? How was the world made? How long did it take? Many scientists answers to these question are vague. For example, how long did it take for the world to be made. Most scientist say that it took millions of years to be created. Which me personally and with christianity in mind think that is ridiculous.

At the very beginning of the bible (besides the table of contents) it says:

“In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.” -Genesis 1:1 (NIV)

A thing I have noticed over the years is that us christians, we have background, we have a reason we think this, we have something from the past that tells us this, something to look on. In a word, we have evidence. The bible is our evidence. The bible has been around for ages, not millions or trillions of years because the world isn’t that old, but it’s been around for quite a while. Moses was the first writer inspired by God to write the bible. He wrote the first five books of the bible: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy. The things that happened in Exodus could only have happened around 500-800 years after the beginning. Which would mean that our world could only be a few thousand years old, no older!

In the beginning of the bible is says that it took God seven days to create the world, again, it is specific. It doesn’t say a million or so trillion years. It gets to the point. God created this on this day, this on this day, and so on.

If someone commented that I was wrong, and that scientists have proven or can prove that the world was created with a big bang or something like that I would 1. probably delete the comment, because I don’t need such rubbish. *cough* or I would reply that scientists have no evidence that the world is a millions years old, they don’t have a book dating back to a few thousand years ago, that goes into specifics. So much that is in the bible makes such perfect sense to everyday life things. And if it were written three thousand years ago how could they people back then know that now things would be like that?

 

H. G. Reilly

6 thoughts on “Creation – The Very Beginning –

  1. One question I always asked when I was younger was,
    “If there was NOTHING in the beginning then how did God get there in the first place?!” I would love to know your opinion on that question as it was one my Sunday School Teachers never could answer enough for me to understand… I ended up asking my Dad so I am no longer looking for an answer but I though that it was a good one if someone like me might think of it maybe others will too?! =)
    I love reading your blog! It is a great inspiration!
    ~Phoenix~

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sure, that is a hard question to answer is all. The bible only says that before God created the world there was nothing but God. My understanding of this is that the ‘nothing’ is an exaggeration. God was there, no one else was, nothing else was. But God was and has been. I hope that helps! And such a great question!
      I’m so glad!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks! Yeah I There are some bible versions that are so weird! One version says something and the next version says the same thing in a different way and then the Third version is completely contradicting the other two! I like to read different versions until I really see what the verse is actually saying!
    I find that lots of varying versions help and I like to read contradicting ones because it makes you see the verse differently! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Don’t dismiss it so quickly. Something that I heard from movie called “God’s Not Dead” is that one theologist said that the way that the big bang is supposed to have happened is exactly what he would imagine it would have looked like when God said the words “Let there be light.” Also, we don’t know how long Adam and Eve were in the garden. They could have lived in the Garden of Eden away from dinosaurs for millions or billions of years, surviving the extinction through the power of God. And lastly, (I’m not sure how true this is it’s just something that I was told, never looked into it myself) the Spanish version of the bible does not say “seven days” but “seven periods of time” that God used to create the earth. I love your blog, don’t stop posting stuff like this, I just like to try to show different perspectives on things and I hope you will treat this as just something to discuss, not an argument.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I find it very interesting how many different thoughts there are on this, I could have kept writing it, but I wanted to stop because I didn’t have anything else to say. I agree that we don’t know how long Adam and Eve lived in the garden, and I was having more of a guess to the time period, to be completely honest I don’t really care for how long it’s been since God made the world, for me the only important thing is that he did make it for us to be here even though we don’t deserve to be. In my youth group we have talked about the ‘seven days’ as it were and we came to the decision that we didn’t specifically know how long the seven days actually were because the Bible doesn’t tell us for a fact. Another thing is translation, I have noticed that with the Bible being translated words are changed and it may be a small change but it can change a whole perspective of the Bible.
      Thanks for your comment, I am glad you like my blog.
      H. G. Reilly

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Yes! I loved the ‘God’s Not Dead’ Movie! Not sure if I remember that scene in it though 🙂 …
      I agree the different versions are confusing and can completely change the way people look at the bible. It is really interesting to look at the different versions!!! I think one important thing is to understand that we don’t need to understand the bible (If that makes sense?!). I said something like that in my Faith post. Sometimes its annoying how the Bible is unspecific… That is part of what makes it interesting though!
      I guess the different versions can help us see how different the bible can be from each point of view.

      ~Phoenix~

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

