Part 2 {The Deciding Series}

Like I said in part 1 this post will be looking at stopping and thinking before deciding. The last post sort of went into that but I tried to keep it pointed to seeing what is right and wrong with decisions, which was explained in this post.


“A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger. The tongue of the wise adorns knowledge, but the mouth of the fool gushes folly.”                                          -Proverbs 15:1-2 (NIV)

Stopping and Thinking is one of those topics that the devotion books talk about allot and tries to explain to you. There are so many reasons to why we don’t stop and think, one may be because we think ahead of time that it’ll take up to much time and people will think we are weird. (Usually stopping and thinking takes up a bit of silence time.) So in the end you decide that it isn’t worth it.

Shove that thought away! 

Yes you may be silent for over a minute thinking through the situation, but it will be worth the wait and the weird looks. Personally, and this may be for you as well … when you are in this stop and think time you may find that it it a great time to speak with God and ask for his guidance!

I was looking at a website and found this to think through when you are in a deciding situation:

T- Is it true?

H- Is it helpful?

I- Is it inspiring?

N- Is it necessary? 

K- Is it kind?

A problem I have with these is that I never can remember them, for example: there was a devotional book I was given by my wonderful mother, and it had a thing that said – good, better, best, never let it rest, until your good is better, and your better is best. I had so much trouble remembering that! So what i’m going to do with this one is write think on my hand.

It doesn’t specifically have all the extra words but it’ll remind me to think before I act/make decisions.

 

H.G.Reilly

“As for me, I will always have hope.” -Psalm 71:14 (NIV)

 

Leave a Reply

